www.fairfaxfederation.org ~/~ P.O. Box 3913, Merrifield, VA 22116-3913

Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

June 26, 2014 FINAI Approved 8/14/2014

The June meeting of the Executive Committee of the Board of the Fairfax County Federation of Citizens Associations was called to order by President Tim Thompson at 7:45 p.m. at the Braddock District Government Center. A purpose of this board meeting was for officers and district council representatives to elect committee chairs for the 2014-2015 membership year. Accordingly, incumbent committee chairs did not participate in this meeting.

Present: Officers: Tim Thompson, Ed Wyse, Bill Barfield, Matthew Bell, Curtis Anderson, Fred Costello, and Tania Hossain. District Council Representatives: Art Wells (Braddock).

Administrative and Organizational Topics

Personnel Assignments

- a. <u>Bill Barfield moved, seconded by Matthew Bell to continue the special (temporary) Library</u> Committee until April 30, 2015; approved unanimously.
- <u>b.</u> <u>Tim Thompson nominated the following chairs/co-chairs of the following standing and special committees: </u>

Budget: Curtis Anderson and Paul Davis

Citizens Association: Don Hinman

Education: Ed Saperstein and Nancy Trainer

Environment: Flint Webb

Human Services: Cherie Lejeune and Morgan Jameson

Land Use: Fred Costello and Jack Dobbyn

Legislation: Matt Bell and Bill Barfield

Library: Kathy Kaplan Membership: OPEN

Public Safety: Daniela Cockayne

Resolutions: Bill Hanks

Transportation: Karen Campblin and Jeff Parnes

All nominations approved unanimously.

c. Bill Barfield nominated the following Liaisons to fill vacant or soon to be vacant positions:

Criminal Justice Advisory Board: Tania Hossain

FCPS Superintendent's Business and Community Advisory Committee: Charles Dane

All nominations approved unanimously.

d. Related Positions:

Tim Thompson nominated Fred Costello as Bulletin Editor; approved unanimously.

Tim Thompson nominated Fred Costello, Jeffrey Parnes and Brian Graham as Webmasters; approved unanimously.

Fairfax County Federation of Citizens Associations Minutes of Executive Committee Meeting June 26, 2014

- <u>e.</u> <u>Audit Committee</u>: Tim Thompson nominated Bill Hanks (Chair), Elizabeth Greene, and Charles Dane as Audit Committee; approved unanimously.
- <u>f.</u> <u>Nominations Committee</u>: Tim Thompson nominated Tania Hossain (Chair), Art Wells (Braddock District Council), and Flint Webb (Providence District Council), with two names to be nominated later (member association delegates); approved unanimously.
- g. Immediate Past President Responsibilities: Per the bylaws and custom, the immediate past president chairs the nominating committee and the Citizen of the Year selection and banquet committees. The 2013-2014 president has declined to accept these duties. The second prior president, Tania Hossain, has graciously accepted these responsibilities.

<u>Newsletter Publication Schedule</u>. After discussion of options, it was agreed to leave the newsletter publication schedule as is. The deadline for submission of items is the last day of the month; the deadline for publication and distribution is one week prior to the membership meeting.

<u>District Council Reports at Membership Meetings</u>. Art Wells proposed that district council reports be reinstated at membership meetings. The practice had been discontinued the past year to reduce meeting length. The president, with the support of the board, agreed to include these reports in membership meetings.

Adjournment—The meeting adjourned at 8:50 p.m.

Next Meetings

The annual (membership) meeting will be September 18, 7:30 p.m., at Mason Governmental Center.

The next board meeting will be August 14, 7:30 p.m., location to be determined.

Minutes prepared by Curtis M. Anderson, Recording Secretary